From the Archive – Greystones Get First Bonus Point of Season in Clonakilty (2011)

Greystones Get First Bonus Point of Season in Clonakilty
Ulster Bank League Division 2A

Clonakilty RFC 23.Greystones RFC 50

Played:               Saturday 10th December 2011

Venue:                  The Vale

Tries:                      Sebastian Caldwell (2)
Ben Armstrong (2)
Conor Cleary (1)
Ronan Carroll (1)
Andrew Kealy (1)

Conversions:     Andrew Kealy (6)

Penalties:             Andrew Kealy (1)

Greystones were on the road again last weekend when they made the long trek to Clonakilty for round 7 of the AIL campaign. Stones made the most of the journey and scored seven tries on their way to a bonus point win to move up to fifth in the league.

The first quarter saw an exchange of penalties with Clon full back Dennis McCarthy making two kicks to open a lead by 6 -3. Stones moved up a gear in the second quarter which saw Sebastian Caldwell scoring two tries in five minutes and three minutes later captain Ben Armstrong touched down under the posts, Andrew Kealy adding the conversions to open up a comfortable lead for Stones of 6 – 24.  Clon were not giving up and did find a way through to score a converted try just after the half hour. Just before the break Conor Cleary added another try for Stones which secured the first bonus point of the season and a healthy half time lead of 13 – 31.

The home side came out with a renewed determination in the second half and were rewarded after 10 minutes when Mark Purcell add a try with the attempted conversion going wide. Ronan Carroll found some clear space on the wing five minutes later to touch down under the posts converted by Andrew Kealy. Andrew Jeffers looked set to open his account but was stopped just short of the line but a quick thinking pop ball to Ben Armstrong to finish under the posts for his second of the afternoon with Kealy on hand to convert. And it was Andrew Kealy who added try no 7 with a great individual run up the left wing to finalise the score at 23 – 50.

Stones head to Limerick next Saturday 10th December where they take on Old Cresent in the AIL

Greystones Team

15 Sebastian Caldwell
14 Ronan Carroll
13 Simon Malone
12 Conor Cleary
11 Andrew Kealy
10 Ross Spillane
9 Dermot O’Rourke
1 Neil O’Brien
2 Peter Hipple
3 Bobby Clancy
4 Stuart Abbott
5 Ben Armstrong (Capt)
6 James Beary
7 Alan Dempsey
8 Dylan Fawsitt



16 Burschi Wojnar
17 Andrew Jeffers
18 Neal Cooper
19 Alan O’Toole
20 Roddy Carroll

Spread the news: