From the Archive – Greystones Secure Bonus Point Win v Midleton (2012)

Greystones Secure Bonus Point Win v Midleton
Ulster Bank League Division 2A                        

Greystones RFC 30. Middleton RFC 12

Played:               Saturday 28th January 2012

Venue:                Dr. Hickey Park

Tries:                    Ronan Carroll (2)
Simon Malone (1)
Bobby Clancy (1)

Andrew Kealy (2)

Penalties:           Andrew Kealy (2)

AIL League action resumed in Dr Hickey Park after a long Christmas break as Greystones welcomed Middleton for round 9 of the 2011/2012 season.  Stones opened the scoring early when Scott Caldwell popped a pass to Ross Spillane who the released winger Ronan Carroll to touch down his first try of the day. Andrew Kealy converted to give the home side a 7 – 0 lead after five minutes.

The early score did not upset Middleton as they found new confidence with a strong performance in the scrum and line-out and responded on the quarter hour with a try from their no 7 Michael Cronin.

A penalty from Andrew Kealy followed soon after and on 26 minutes Simon Malone showed great pace as he burst through a tackle and then sprinted clear of the scramble defence to cross for a try. 15-5 at the break and a comfortable lead for the home side.

Middleton came out after the break with a determination and got their reward with a try in the corner from quick tap penalty from replacement Paul Daly and the conversion was added by Jeffery Hitchmough. Andrew Kealy opened up the lead for Stones to 18 – 12 on the hour slotting over a penalty kick.

Stones were hungry for a bonus point win and secured try number three with Ronan Carroll’s second of the day with ten minutes to go with a superb try from 35 meters cutting in past the defenders. Stones were on the attack to the end and it fell to Bobby Clancy to burst through to secure the bonus point on the stroke of full time. Andrew Kealy provided the last action of the game converting to give Stones a 30 – 12 win.

Greystones are on the road again next weekend as they travel to Lakelands Park for their clash with Terenure College.

Greystones Team

15 Ross Spillane
14 Ronan Carroll
13 Simon Malone
12 Conor Clery
11 Scott Caldwell
10 Andrew Kealy
9 Dermot O’Rourke
1 Neil O’Brien
2 Peter Hipple
3 Bobby Clancy
4 Barry Holmes (capt)
5 Ben Armstrong
6 Dylan Fawsitt
7 Alan Dempsey
8 Alan O’Toole


16 Ronan Kearney
17 Stuart Abbott
18 James Beary                                                                                                MORE PHOTOS ON FACEBOOK
19 James Power
20 Cian Mc Naughton

Spread the news: